Skip to content

Blogging in the Time of Facebook

April 16, 2009

On New Year’s Resolutions

Remember that post a little while ago where I promised to update the blog more regularly?  Yeah, me neither.  But I came across it today.  And by today, I mean the-first-time-I’ve-even-visited-the-blog-in-2-months.

Here’s what happened: Facebook.  I have seriously just emerged from a two month period where I neglected emails, phone calls, and occasionally even the happiness-inducing ring of Skype (yes, I admit it!  I might have ignored your call, Mom!) because I was on Facebook.  Now, I could go on and on about how this social networking site is about the most anti-social thing that’s ever happened to me, but let’s be honest…I love it.

However, a wise person has informed me that sometimes it’s important to set limits.  Even with yourself!  So I’m working on some rules, and among them is the “blog clause,” which stipulates that I shalt not linger on Facebook if I haven’t updated The Expat Life within the past week.

We’ll see how it goes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:51 pm

    So Laura – how is that New Years resolution going? 🙂

  2. rebecca permalink
    May 21, 2009 4:38 am

    how is that new year’s resolution treating you? i could swear that i’ve seen some facebook updates from you since you posted this! 🙂 i love you and miss you like crazy and don’t care if i am hearing from you via facebook or blog.

Trackbacks

  1. Forest for the Trees « The Expat Life

Leave a Reply

