Skip to content

Sans Serif

May 26, 2009

on MALGUN GOTHIC and the DEATH of SERIF

Confession time: I am one of those people who has good handwriting days and bad handwriting days. I spent so much of my adolescence trying out different forms of print and cursive that my teachers probably worried about my evident case of script schizophrenia. I thought the most agonizing decision of the entire wedding planning process was not the cake, not the dress, not the colors, but what font to use for the invitations and the program.

Please tell me I’m not alone.

The point of this little testimonial is that I need to switch the word processing platform I use for publishing to the blog. Up until this point, I have been cutting and pasting from Word. Turns out that Word doesn’t “speak” HTML, which explains why my posts never look as nice as they did when I formatted them as a document. And why the insertion of a picture causes my carefully-considered spacing scheme to go completely haywire.

You would think I could have sorted this out well before the impending one-year anniversary of hosting a blog, but, well, I didn’t, OK? So I’ve chosen a new “desktop editor” that still allows me to write and edit offline, and then publish directly to the blog when I’m ready.

After all, cutting and pasting was SO 20th century.

In the process, I decided to capitulate to the fact that “real” bloggers don’t usually employ a frilly, pretty font like the one I’ve been using. Nope, they chose something straightforward, easy to read, and above all, sans serif. In case you don’t take your fonts quite as seriously as I do (or don’t quite remember your high school French), sans serif means “without serif.” Brilliant translation, I know. As in, no curvy, scalloped details at the end of a letter’s stroke.

So, introducing The Expat Life’s new font: Malgun Gothic!

(By the way, if you’re still reading even after all this blabber that is really only interesting to me, an unrelated note: I just added a new recipe to the Bite of Hong Kong page. It’s one of my favorite soups of all time. If you like things creamy without being too ridiculously sinful, this is the soup you’ve been dreaming of!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

